Untitled Document
  • Vox Renaissance Consort
  • Ama Deus Ensemble
  • Camerata Ama Deus
  • Maestro and Guests
  Camerata Ama Deus  
Camerata Ama Deus is our chamber orchestra established in 2007. “Camerata” is an Italian word for “room” or “chamber,” and signifies an orchestra that is much smaller than the 90+/- musician symphony orchestras which began to develop in the mid-1800s. A chamber orchestra is the appropriate type of ensemble to perform the instrumental music of the Baroque and Classical periods (ca. 1650 to 1790). The name is also derived from the venues in which so much of this music was first presented in the sitting rooms of aristocratic manors and palaces.

Camerata Ama Deus consists of fifteen to twenty-five professional orchestral musicians who perform on authentic period instruments...both actual ancient instruments and others which are recreations of originals preserved in museums. The brilliant soloists featured throughout each concert are drawn from the orchestra, each of whom is a knowledgeable expert in the performance practice style of the period.

Camerata’s repertoire draws upon the deep wellspring of energetic and sublime works from the pens of both famed composers (such as Bach, Handel, Vivaldi, Telemann, Corelli, Haydn and Mozart), and inspired artists of equally glorious music but with lesser name recognition today (among them Albinoni, Marcello, Pachelbel and Scarlatti).

An engaging facet of each Camerata Ama Deus concert is the interaction among the audience, the conductor and the orchestra members. Maestro Radu introduces each work on the program with unscripted "live notes" that set the composer and the musical piece in their historic, social and musical contexts. Members of the orchestra are often invited to describe for the audience their unique period instruments.

Camerata Ama Deus

Ama Deus Ensemble
Camerata Ama Deus
Vox Renaissance Consort

Our Organization

Board of Directors
VoxAmaDeus Staff
Maestro Valentin Radu
Buy Tickets

Click to read for Maestro Radu's Season 31 message

 Click for a PDF of our Season 31 postcard  Click for a PDF of our Season 31 brochure
s s

2 1
Watch on YouTube &
Like us on Facebook
Click here for a Video Interview
with Valentin Radu
Gershwin Gala Videos
An American in Paris
I Got Rhythm
Concerto in F Allegro agitato
Theme from Rhapsody in Blue
Bess You is my Woman Now from the Symphonic Suite Porgy & Bess
Vox Ama Deus: Renaissance, Baroque and Classical music by Bach, Handel, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven

Many thanks to our sponsors and patrons!

Phelan Family Foundation • The Thornedge Foundation
Pine Tree Foundation
James & Janet Averill Charitable Fund

Vanguard Charitable Logo  PCA Logo  Cultural Alliance Logo  Peco Logo
Stay in Tune with us! Get our Newsletter:
Vox Ama Deus • Box 203, Gladwyne, PA 19035 • p: (610) 688-2800 • f: (610) 649-4012