Beethoven’s 5th and Missa Solemnis

Ama Deus Ensemble

Beethoven’s 5th and Missa Solemnis

Ama Deus Ensemble Soloists, Chorus & Orchestra

Kimmel Center, Perelman Theater, Philadelphia

Symphony No. 5 in c minor, Op. 67
Rondo from Violin Concerto in D Major, Opus 61
Missa solemnis in D, Op. 123

Andrea Lauren Brown, soprano | Jody Kidwell, mezzo soprano | Timothy Bentch, tenor | Keith Miller, bass | Thomas DiSarlo, violin

In memoriam Lewis du Pont Smith

This concert features two of Beethoven’s supreme masterpieces. The Missa solemnis, his monumental Mass setting (written during the same period as his Ninth Symphony and premiered at the same concert) was considered by the composer to be his greatest work, the consummation of all his technique. The hugely popular Fifth Symphony, with its iconic four-note opening motif, is widely considered one of the cornerstones of Western music. Its performance at this concert will mark a premiere in VoxAmaDeus programming.

Running time: 2 hours 30 minutes – one intermission